What I Miss The Most About Korea

Namdaemun Temple
Namdaemun Temple

Since returning from Korea, one of the many questions that I have been asked over and over again is “What do you miss the most about Korea?”

While I can say “everything,” that would be too of a cliché answer. Instead, what I will say is the environment is what I miss the most about Korea. Yeah, thats right, I said environment. Of course, there are the friends I created and the things I’ve done, but when it’s all said and done, you just can’t argue with the environment Korea poses to you as a visitor.

Immortal Song
Immortal Song

In Korea, I was a free man. I could do whatever I want and be whoever I wanted to be. I could create a new face and life for myself if I wanted too. I didn’t have to walk around knowing that people were judging me. Instead, I felt appreciated. I could walk around the streets of Korea and see the respect people gave each other.

I was surrounded by tall buildings everywhere I went. I could go to my favorite place Hongdae and enjoy people singing on the streets, shopping, and just simply hanging out. I could stay up till 2 am and everyone would still be out having fun and hanging out. I didn’t have to worry about someone trying to rob me or punk me because I don’t think any Korean would try to do that (at least in my opinion).

Hongdae
Hongdae

I could climb a mountain and see some old Korean couple hiking up a mountain with hiking clothes and greet us with great hospitality even though we were American. You could walk into a store in Insadong and buy stuff and the owners would give you extra service for actually purchasing their items. You would see food carts almost everywhere in Korea and it would be the best thing in the world when you were hungry. You would see tons of people shooting fireworks at the beach because it was just awesome.

Fireworks on Haeundae Beach
Fireworks on Haeundae Beach

Overall, I would have to say that Korea was just an awesome place. In my four months there, I felt like I learned so much about Korea and myself. If you do ever visit Korea, be sure to just have fun. Enjoy the environment and what it poses to visitors. You will definitely have a great time and to end my blogs on Korea until further notice, it will always have a place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

