Tips on Eating Healthy

Eating healthy is something that many people might struggle with especially when it’s combined with working out. Most times, I struggle with this due to my body having such a high metabolism. Balancing a good meal after a good workout or eating healthier is a challenge. If you find yourself in this position,then you’ve come to the right place.

A couple years ago, my best friend, Steven Lee and his sister Penny created a Facebook page called Fitness Buffet. At Fitness Buffet we motivate each other to work hard and make gains via fitness. For this section, I am going to feature Yang Xiong II, who was one of the first members of Fitness Buffet and his awesome tips on eating healthy.

Yang Xiong II
Yang Xiong II

How do you balance your meals with your workouts? 
A general rule of thumb I like to stick by is to eat bigger meals on days I work out and smaller meals for those days I don’t.

I feel it’s important to have a meal after a strenuous workout to better promote recovery. Depending on my time crunch, I’ll either cook ahead of time or have a meal bar or shake. I try to avoid fast food if at all possible.

What are some food that you recommend people try?
I always like to recommend “super foods.” Super foods promote numerous health benefits that can be very beneficial mentally, physically and emotionally.  Here is a list that can be easily found in any supermarket/grocery store that I like to include in my nutrition plan. Darker greens like Broccoli and spinach, old fashioned/steel cut oats, organic peanut butter (less fat), almonds, oranges, blue berries, lean meats like turkey and salmon, Greek yogurt (I prefer low fat), and green tea!

What is your favorite meal that you think is the healthiest? 
It’s really hard to say what my favorite or healthiest meal is because I really loooooooove food and trying new things! But I can definitely  tell you meals I really enjoy and would recommend!  It’s always beneficial to have a well-balanced meal!

Meal 1: Steamed veggies, leaner beef with Mrs. Dash and seasonings, hummus, guacamole
Meal 2: Greek yogurt, blue berries, oat meal w/ peanut butter and orange juice
Meal 3: Omelet with onions, green/red peppers, low fat cheese, mushrooms. With a side of boiled/steamed veggies, hummus, guacamole
Those are just a few meals!

Mushroom/LF cheese omelette, tilapia, veggies, and guacamole!
Mushroom/LF cheese omelette, tilapia, veggies, and guacamole!

How much protein, fats, and calories do you think someone should consume on a daily basis? 
First thing I’d like to mention is that for each individual, food/nutrition/caloric intake will vary. But for general overall health, I like to refer to the “USDA My Food Plate” for portion sizes on what to eat. So, roughly ¼ of your meal should consist of some type of protein from lean meats to other foods that contain protein.

Caloric intake for men I would say would be about 2000 -3000 and for women it would be 1200-2200.

Fats are essential to our health and from what I’ve read they say roughly 30% of your caloric intake should be from fats and less than 10% from saturated fats. I do like to recommend looking at nutrient and ingredient labels for and avoid transfats! Studies show those that people who read food/nutrition labels lose more weight!

Food

What’s the number one rule someone should consider when approaching tips on eating healthy?
My number one rule for healthy eating would be to not restrict  yourself. It should perfectly be ok to indulge once in a while, moderately of course! You should eat the rainbow! (have colorful meals that are well balanced with food from multiple food groups)

I hope you enjoyed Yang’s tips on eating healthy and hopefully you may be able to implement it into your next meal segment.  If you feel that these tips were beneficial, be sure to comment below or if you have any questions, feel free to ask. We love seeing people change for the best. Start now before it’s too late!

 

2 thoughts on “Tips on Eating Healthy”

  1. Great advice on food recommendations. What suggestions do you have for office parties when everyone brings in loads of carbs and sweets?

  2. I would say control yourself. Know what you can take and not take. Just because something looks good, it may or may not be the best for you. At the end of the day, sweets aren’t good in general haha

Leave a Reply

