Erase (지워)

Hyolyn X JooYoung featuring Iron – Erase (지워)


It’s been awhile since I’ve listened to any type of Kpop songs, but from time to time I’ll hear a good song that I think is awesome. This is my first Kpop Song of the Month blog because I didn’t want to keep critiquing five songs at a time. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out Korean Songs that you may like: Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3. I only critique songs that I like or I think the audience may like, so it isn’t to say that I don’t listen to all Kpop, I just listen to ones that catch me by the ear.

This song was first released to the public in November and features Hyolyn, who is a member of Sistar and a guy who I’m not familiar with. For those who don’t know much about Hyolyn, she can flat out sing. Not only that, but she makes every song that she’s in so much better and she does it with finesse and is definitely my favorite Kpop singer.

Hyolyn and JooYoung - Erase

The Melody and Beat 

The song starts off with a slow and nice piano melody and beat to go along with Hyolyn and JooYoung singing back and forth to each other in dialogue form. As the song progresses, the song’s tempo increases and once it hits the chorus, the song just gets better. Of course, the whole song follows this pattern, but the tune and beat to go with the melody is nice to listen to overall. It’s great to hear Hyolyn’s powerful voice combined with JooYoung’s because the synergy of both their voices combine really well in this composition. It almost feels as if you’re listening to a combination of jazz and hip-hop.

The Music Video 

The music video starts off with the two making a phone call (presumably to meet up) and then it cuts to both meeting at the bars with a bartender. As the next several scenes shows each of them singing, it flashes back on the relationship that they once had because you can hear them singing the word Erase (지워) throughout each of their flashback. While one is trying not to forget what the memories they both may share, the other is trying to move on. After all of the flashbacks, we get brought back to the bar where another Hyolyn walks in and sits next to JooYoung. To me, this seems like JooYoung is the one who can’t let go of Hyolyn and that she has moved on and the bartender? I’ve concluded that Hyolyn is seeing him now and it is a coincidence that the bartender was there.

Hyolyn and JooYoung - Erase

The best aspect of this video is the dance, choreography, and cinematography. The transition into the dancing and choreography of the two and extras are done very well. I mean Hyolyn doesn’t hold back. She can definitely move it. The cinematography is just awesome. The color, directing, and graphic matching in this video is just the perfect tone to what the song is about.

These are all my opinions on the song and the music video, but what do you think of it? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Erase (지워)”

Leave a Reply

